HAPPY TENTH ANNIVERSARY MEAN GIRLS!

Mean-Girls-Cast--6530098793836133

Mean Girls was a film released on April 30th 2004 and is now, if I may say, one of the most sought-after films that influenced the lives of many girls who aspired, tried and inclined their life to the characters of this film.

Most of us are familiar with this movie and what it means, but what does “mean” really means?

According to dictionary.reference.com, mean refers to describe something or someone as offensive, selfish, nasty or malicious. Everyone knows it’s not a nice word to describe someone you’d intended to admire, but why does being so “mean” can sound so appeasing? Is it the fact that we all know someone who’s “mean” and pretty at the same time (fortunately it became a very effective duo)? Maybe it’s the pleasing touch to the ego when you’re being called as a “Queen Bee” despite the fouls following it?  Or is it the influence of television shows that stereotypes girls – similar to the character of Regina George – that affects the mindset of everyone? Regardless of the reason, it sure did its purpose clear and stable that made Mean Girls celebrate its 10th anniversary, trending recently.

It’s been almost ten years when I got the chance to watch a movie that brought the inner “mean” out of me! It has been my obsession since day 1 after seeing this flick, to be someone as popular as Regina, to be as smart as Cady, to be as rich as Gretchen and to be as weird as Karen. Let’s face it – they’re pretty, popular, rich and influential. How can any girl not want to be like them?

Younger than the prescribed viewer’s age, I was able to watch this film on HBO circa 2004-2005. I was unquestionably influenced by how the characters played their roles and how their distinctiveness affected others’ (no wonder they’ve set a higher age limit for this film!). As a small-town girl growing up in a well-sheltered environment, going out of my comfort zone and trying out the “Regina George” way of living surely proves how I inclined my decisions on Mean Girls.

When confronted with a situation, I always think it through like “What would Regina do if she’s here?” “Would Cady be able to answer this if she’s here?” or “I’m sure Gretchen can afford this kind of stuff.” It’s a weird outbreak to share these kinds of habits but if you’ve got friends who can quote Mean Girls like you do, who wouldn’t enjoy right? During my fourth grade, if I may share, my friends and I even made it a point that we wear something pink on Wednesdays (we had to wear pink headbands or charm bracelets because we had to wear our school uniform, boo hoo!)! But still, it just hit us that hard. Doesn’t that prove how we love and adored Mean Girls?

Getting enough with the throwback, I’ve learned my lesson not to “try” to claim superiority with harshness and fake authenticity. I never wanted to make people follow or copy the things I say and do. I just want to have lots of friends but this, also changed eventually because I have learned that it’s better to keep some of them – even if you can just count them with your hands – than to have lots of them who just wants to be with you and the attention they have if you’re together as packs.

Regina George, Cady Heron, Gretchen Wieners and Karen Smith will always be a part of my life. Mean Girls had influenced me like The Sound of Music did – even with the obvious difference. It had and still helps me when in times of making decisions with what life throws at me. It gives me weird feelings too whenever I try to figure out the reason behind basing my life with the movies I see. But I guess that’s what they’re there for!

To one of the films that I will forever quote and adore – HAPPY TENTH ANNIVERSARY MEAN GIRLS! x

Leave a Reply

