It takes RISKS to be a Ris Basilio

Ask a kid what he wants in life and get multiple answers just for a single question. Now, does this kind of reverie exist only in the eyes of a child? I guess, not for me.

I grew up imaging myself to be a successful “something”, to be the best in “something”, yet as I began weary lurking through pages and pages of books and WebPages, I just got over it and told myself; I’d rather have my mind opened by curiosity over a closed one by certainty.

Bucketlists, you have them everywhere – people who share enthusiasm for a profession, people who crave adventure, and even people who seek assurance with other people who are believed to be their halves. It’s a good start for them to know what they want in life. It’s also a good thing they’re much assured that they’re bucketlists are the ones that can make them happy. I’ve never had a bucketlist, I never even had the gut to make one, but I have several things in mind.

People make me curious. The way they talk, behave, laugh, cry, and many other things that make them do what they do. The things that make people angry, hungry, sad, mad and all that things. It’s what makes me thirsty for what more is there to know. From a certain and very twisted viewpoint, my engagement in diverse set of activities have made me reach out for other things that there is to try.

At the age of 17, I have already gained my first work-experience. Meeting people that are far beyond my economic status made me feel what it feels like to be on their side of the world. People who have thicker greens than my dictionaries had made me grasp that strive do come before success – even in the dictionary – and success isn’t success without strive.

261455_1955842508823_2762696_n

Thank heavens I have people who understood what I wanted to prove myself during those times in my life. I also would like to thank my enraged hormones as an adolescent for letting me go straight-forward what I wanted way back then.

My second and yet so ironic feat in this post is the blog that I am posting it in. I started this venture around July 2011. Only as a spot of boredom and a pinch of jealousy entered my system and Voila! Welcome to erbasilio.wordpress.com! A spot of boredom, because I was so tired of reading my hours away and craved of a new way to justify my unproductive afternoons. A pinch of jealousy because I see people who appear and look like successful people on TV has websites. And besides, it’s pretty cool having a safe way to bust everything you want to bust out on your customized web right? So, thank you WordPress!

headerrrrrrrrrrrrrr1111111

Moving on, at the age of 18, I have become an actress. Being assigned on a character and being in another one’s shoe for just a day or two made me realize that there is truly a reason for everyone to behave the way they choose to behave.

As a child growing up in a family of imaginative musicians and musical-aficionados, I have only then and only then saw how my love for Dorothy and Frolain Maria made an impact as I entered their side of the world. It didn’t just make me love what I did but also made me smoothly stand out too. I will forever be grateful for my family who saw and sang The Sound of Music, The Wizard of the Oz, The King & I and many other musicals with me.

32389_492902527395413_189328824_n

Well, the next one to be discussed is pretty twisted. Ha! I am on the cover of a magazine! I know it’s HARD TO BELIEVE but a girl can both be enchanting and ingenious right? *insert wicked grin here*

And for one of the craziest and huggable creature this universe will ever have, thank you Billy for covering my photo shoot!

PhotoGrid_1405819464676

Now, the last one is the latest and yet so vague ambition I had since way back then.

To be a writer will be always on the top of my want-to-achieve list (if ever I had one). I always believe in the power of words. It can do a lot of things for people, it could change them, it could break them, it could inspire them, and it could also change how a person lives his life. I guess that’s also why I started this whole-blog breathing thing but being on a printed sheet is a different thing. It will coat wide range of readers that has different view of the similarity you both have. At first it scared me, not because of what my words can do but I was pretty scared of what my words could employ on every reader that has diverse outlook in life. So far, I have received compliments that I never had before – even from those who seemed like they wouldn’t throw any compliments on anyone.

Well, to Reysa Rica Paligutan who squeezed it all out in me! Thanks for pushing me to join our school broadsheet!

IMG_20140815_140600

SO THERE WE HAVE IT! I know these aren’t really that big-of-a-deal for other people, but these things are, so far, some of the highlights of the twenty years of my existence. I know we all have something to brag for right? So why be satisfied early? I suggest that we should keep reaching out for whatever it is that the world has got to offer! There are still lots of things I would really like to try, and I still want to experience the world. For whatever it is that the world will throw, stopping from what you want to be in your life will never make you reach that goal.

I know it’s not right to brag that I am never and will be ever satisfied, but that’s just the way it is. Sometimes this longing for new ventures helps, sometimes it’s not. It will always be how you handle it.

Leave a Reply

