Worlds apart

So tightly did she hold my hand

And so quickly she had shed a tear

Never have I felt entirely safe

Even though I was completely ill

 

To that one chance that God gave me

I know not all could get this free

I can finally brag that glimpse of reality

That through my illest time you were hugging me

 

I prayed and prayed so I can hug you back

Though I know I was out of track

Still I hoped for that too much,

But so scared I was to push my luck

 

For those many days I have wept

During those many nights alone I have slept.

Tears to years, the grief’s still bright

Like the first day you were out of sight

 

Each dream I still wished you there,

But I know you listened to my every prayer

So forgive me if I say it makes me blue

That most of the time, I still long for you 

 

That murmur that I once heard

Deserved no more place in this world

For not a word was to be understood

Even to translate – no one could

 

What I share is a poem

Even if it won’t perfectly rhyme

To the person I thought I’d lost

But was there in my darkest time

 

I told myself not to cry

But I just knew she had to go

From that one time that me see

That even worlds apart, she loves me so

 

Only with just one breath

She reminded me not to fuss

Though I still wished her here

 I’m sure she’s watching over us

 

Knowing that worlds’ what holding me

Never have I known what defined eternity

But that borrowed time from God above

I sure have felt her eternal love

 

And so tightly did she hold my hand

So quickly with me, she had shed a tear

Never have I felt entirely safe

Even though I know I was completely ill

 

1 thought on “Worlds apart”

Leave a Reply

